Renaissance Academy is a thriving charter school serving preschool through eighth grade students in Mt. Pleasant and surrounding communities. There is no tuition charge to attend our school. As a Public School Academy, we receive the same state funding and follow the same state and federal guidelines as traditional public school districts.

Our Mission

The mission of Renaissance Public School Academy is to engage every student in becoming confident, creative, and collaborative builders of their future.

Our Vision

Renaissance students will find their passion to live fulfilled lives and make a difference in the world.

Strategic Pillars

  • Academic Knowledge
  • Intellectual Curiosity
  • Community Engagement
  • Execution


  • Safety and respect are the foundations for a positive learning environment among all members of our diverse school community.
  • We foster collaboration for students and staff while guiding them to take responsibility for their individual contributions.  
  • We empower our students and staff to be independent thinkers, problem solvers, and lifelong learners.
  • We engage in rigorous learning opportunities for students to apply in real life experiences.

Rachael Robinson

Kindergarten Teacher

Charlotte Keel

Kindergarten Paraprofessional

Jason Wilson

Kindergarten Teacher

Sara Byers

Kindergarten Paraprofessional

Kris Anderson

Voyager Teacher

Tina Assmann

Voyager Teacher

Rachel Osheka

Voyager Teacher

Sharon Schaar

Voyager Teacher

Savannah de Luca

Islander Teacher

Marilyn Lindsay

Islander Teacher

Carly Schwartz

Islander Teacher

Amanda Trecy

Islander Teacher

Erynn Camp

Trailblazer Teacher

Jade Kennedy

Trailblazer Teacher

Stephanie Papenfus

Trailblazer Teacher

Tara Wesolowski

Trailblazer Teacher

​Rachel Brandeberry

Middle School Teacher

Blake Buzard

Middle School Teacher

Dave McCausey

Middle School Teacher, Athletic Director

Brian Whitman

Middle School Teacher​

Courtney Doyle

Media Specialist

Amanda Franklin

Arts & Exploration Teacher

Stephen McConnell

Physical Education Teacher

Joel Wiseman

Music Teacher

Jessica Bean

Resource Room Teacher

Sara Egloff

Interventionist Teacher

Kristen Hart

Resource Room Teacher

Maureen Karbowski

Speech Teacher

Anna Doyle


Anna Walton


Heather Pastotnik


Sandy Ricumstrict


Jon Koster

Technology Director and Assessment Coordinator

Laura Bailey

Literacy Instructional Coach

Melissa MacLaren

Goal Setting & Teacher Mentoring Instructional Coach

Megan Nix

Project-Based Learning Instructional Coach

Pamala Lewis

Food Service

Jodie Richardson

Food Service, After School Care

Barb Oakley


Tina Singer

Office Professional

Sarah Anderson

Dean of Students

Lisa Bergman

Executive Director

Henry Mayer

Dean of Instruction

Brandy Reihl

Business Manager